

Cabinet Economic Development Committee

Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

Approval of the Aotearoa New Zealand Biodiversity Strategy

Portfolio Conservation

On 29 July 2020, the Cabinet Economic Development Committee:

- noted that a national biodiversity strategy is a requirement for Advaroa New Zealand to meet its obligations under the United Nations Convention on Kological Diversity;
- noted that on 27 June 2019, the Cabinet Environment, Evergy and Climate Committee agreed to the release of a discussion document on a proposed *Te Koiroa o te Koiora*, New Zealand Biodiversity Strategy [ENV-19-MIN 0038];
- noted that significant engagement has been excited out by Department of Conservation officials with Treaty partners, stakeholders and the wider community to inform the development of the *Te Mana o te Taiac*.
- 4 **noted** that *Te Mana o te Taiao* and implementation provides an opportunity to elevate Treaty partnerships, increase recognition of mātauranga Māori, and ensure WAI 262 considerations are addressed.
- agreed to the release of Mana o te Taiao, Aotearoa New Zealand Biodiversity Strategy, attached to the paper order DEV-20-SUB-0148, subject to any minor editorial and design changes that may be authorised by the Minister of Conservation;
- 6 **noted** that collaborative implementation planning and action with Treaty partners, central and local government, and stakeholders to scope and initiate implementation of the goals of *Te Mana o te Taiao* will begin once the strategy is approved;
- 7 **noted** that the costs of collaborative implementation planning and the immediate actions will be funded from within agency baselines;
- 8 **invited** the Minister of Conservation to report back to Cabinet in the first quarter of 2021 with an implementation plan.

Janine Harvey Committee Secretary

Present: (see over)

Present:

Rt Hon Winston Peters

Hon Grant Robertson (Chair)

Hon Phil Twyford

Hon Andrew Little

Hon David Parker

Hon Damien O'Connor

Hon Shane Jones

Hon Kris Faafoi

Hon Willie Jackson

Hon James Shaw

Hon Eugenie Sage

Officials present from:

Office of the Prime Minister Officials Committee for DEV

Released by the Minister of Conservation