

Cabinet Environment, Energy and Climate Committee

Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

Nomination of Wairarapa Moana as a Ramsar Wetland of International Importance

Portfolio Conservation

On 12 March 2020, the Cabinet Environment, Energy and Climate Committee:

- 1 **noted** that Wairarapa Moana has wetland values of international significance and is proposed to be nominated as a Ramsar site of international importance;
- 2 **noted** that the proposed Ramsar nomination has no significant regulatory impacts;
- 3 **noted** the following domestic process of nomination of a Ramsar Wetland of international importance:
 - 3.1 under section 18AB of the Conservation Act 1987, the Governor-General may, by Order in Council, on the recommendation of the Minister of Conservation:
 - 3.1.1 specify a wetland and the details of the area of the wetland; and
 - 3.1.2 declare that the Minister for the time being responsible for the Ramsar Administrative Authority must notify the Ramsar Secretariat of the wetland and the details of the area of the wetland;
 - 3.2 before making a recommendation to the Governor-General, the name of the proposed site must be referred to the New Zealand Geographic Board Ngā Pou Taunaha o Aotearoa for review;
- 4 **noted** the extensive consultation process that has been undertaken and resulted in no relevant concerns, and support from Treaty Partners for the nomination of Wairarapa Moana under the Ramsar Convention;
- 5 **noted** that the proposed name for the proposed Ramsar site "Wairarapa Moana" is currently in the process of being referred to the New Zealand Geographic Board for review;

invited the Minister of Conservation to issue drafting instructions to the Parliamentary 6 Counsel Office.

Vivien Meek Committee Secretary

Present:

Rt Hon Winston Peters Hon Dr Megan Woods Hon David Parker (Chair) Hon Nanaia Mahuta Hon James Shaw Hon Eugenie Sage

Officials present from: Office of the Prime Minister Officials Committee for ENV

Hard-copy distribution: Minister of Conservation